## TERRITORIAL ORGANISATION

The territorial organisation of Spain

**Santillana** 

## The organisation of Spain in Autonomous Communities and Autonomous Cities

Spain is organised into 17 Autonomous Communities and two Autonomous Cities. The Autonomous Communities are divided into provinces. Each province is divided into municipalities.

Most Autonomous Communities are comprised of one or more provinces. Each one has a range of powers, including the right to pass and apply laws.

Self-government in each Autonomous Community is regulated by a Statute of Autonomy that defines the main features of each Autonomous Community: its territorial frontiers, capital, flag, and official language or languages.

## **Provinces and municipalities**

Spain's Autonomous Communities are divided into 50 provinces. In the Autonomous Communities with more than one province, each province is governed by a Provincial Deputation.

Spain's islands have their own form of administration, which are called *Cabildos* in the Islas Canarias and *Consejos* in the Islas Baleares.

A municipality is the basic unit of territorial organisation. It consists of one or several population centres and the surrounding area that it administers.

A municipal council (or *ayuntamiento*) governs each municipality. It consists of a mayor and an assembly of councillors, who are elected in local elections every four years.